Reviews of Attainable Hi-Fi & Home-Theater Equipment

Reviews of Attainable Hi-Fi & Home-Theater Equipment

  • SoundStage! Shorts - Livio Cucuzza on Audio Research's Industrial Design (November 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Audio Research Past, Present, and Future (October 2018)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - KEF's New R Series for 2018 (September 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Simaudio Moon 390 Digital/Analog Preamplifier and Streamer (September 2018)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - EISA 2018-2019 Awards Introduction (August 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Simaudio's $118,888 Moon 888 Mono Amplifiers (June 2018)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Totem's Tribe Tower (May 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Amphion's Three Newest Argon Loudspeakers (April 2018)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Making the Hegel Mohican CD Player (March 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Estelon Lynx Wireless Intelligent Loudspeaker (March 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - McIntosh's Five New Solid-State Integrated Amplifiers (January 2018)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Amphion's Krypton Loudspeaker (January 2018)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Anthem STR Preamplifier and Power Amplifier (December 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - McIntosh Laboratory MA252 Integrated Amplifier (November 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Hegel H90 and H190 Integrated Amplifiers (October 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - How Hegel's SoundEngine Works (October 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight  - Estelon History and YB and Extreme Loudspeakers (September 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - What Makes Hegel Different? (August 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Estelon Extreme Legacy Edition Loudspeaker (July 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Amphion Overview and Technologies (July 2017)
  • SoundStage! Insight - Totem Acoustic Signature One Loudspeaker (June 2017)
  • SoundStage! Encore - The Cowboy Junkies'
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- Anthem's STR Integrated Amplifier (May 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- Paradigm's Perforated Phase Alignment (PPA) Lenses (March 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Paradigm's Persona 9H Loudspeaker (March 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Contrasts: Dynaudio's Contour and Focus XD Speaker Lines (February 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - New Technologies in MartinLogan's Masterpiece Series
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Dynaudio/Volkswagen Car Audio (December 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Gryphon Philosophy and the Kodo and Mojo S Speakers (January 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- What's a Tonmeister? (November 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - AxiomAir N3 Wireless Speaker System (December 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Bang & Olufsen BeoLab 90 (November 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Gryphon Diablo 120 Integrated Amplifier (October 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Dynaudio History and Driver Technology (October 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - The Story How Gryphon Began (September 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Devialet History, ADH Technology, and Expert 1000 Pro (September 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Devialet's Phantom Loudspeakers (August 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - McIntosh Home Theater and Streaming Audio (July 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - McIntosh MC275 Stereo Amplifier (June 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - McIntosh History and Autoformer Technology (June 2016)

Discipline Global Mobil DGMSP2
Format: CD/DVD-Audio

Musical Performance ****
Sound Quality ****
Overall Enjoyment ****


In the photo on the back of Live at the Orpheum: Los Angeles 2014, the somewhat formally attired members of King Crimson look like the science faculty of a small but prestigious university. Given the band’s precision and air of daunting intellectualism, the image seems appropriate. Even in the world of progressive rock, King Crimson stands out for the demands it makes of its listeners and its high standards of musicianship.

Live at the Orpheum comprises seven tunes from two shows played in Los Angeles in the fall of 2014. The band was: Mel Collins, sax and flute; Jakko M. Jakszyk and Robert Fripp, guitars; Tony Levin, bass; and Pat Mastelotto, Bill Rieflin, and Gavin Harrison, drums. With three drummers, the band creates a big, rhythmically layered sound -- even longtime fans should hear interesting variations on songs they know well.

King Crimson

Bill Bruford’s drumming was a key element of “One More Red Nightmare,” from Red (1974), but the interaction of the three drummers in this arrangement weaves a more complex tapestry -- Bruford can’t be bettered, but this trio gives the song an agile power. Jakszyk’s voice sounds remarkably like Jack Bruce’s on this tune, and he must be singing with a harmony vocal track -- no other vocalist is listed. The song is driven by Collins’s intelligently developed sax solos, sometimes electronically processed.

The original version of the title tune of The ConstruKction of Light (2000) was somewhat plodding; here it’s more relaxed, the transitions between the various sections less abrupt. Collins adds color and light, but it’s the drummers and Levin who open up the music and even manage to make it swing. “Starless,” also from Red, is similar to the original, but Levin’s fluid bass lines give it more flexibility, especially in the heaviest sections. Collins plays another series of impressive solos, and the song’s dynamic shifts from loud to soft, and from the heavy to the melodic, are deftly managed.

For the most part, the arrangements are very similar to their original versions, but minor changes make the songs sound fresh. “The Letters,” from Islands (1971), has fewer electronic effects, and Jakszyk’s voice is smoother than Boz Burrell’s. The arrangement has fewer elements, and the resulting space better serves the composition. The opening cymbals of “Sailor’s Tale,” split among the drummers, now appear in different parts of the soundstage, and Collins and Fripp blend together more easily than in the original.

I’ve become so accustomed to the compressed sound that has become the standard even for jazz reissues that the mastering of Live at the Orpheum at first seemed reserved. But a slight rolling up of the volume control brings the music forward and gives it power and higher resolution. “One More Red Nightmare” needs more bass definition and the drums sound just a bit scattered, but the remaining tracks sound excitingly detailed and natural.

This two-disc set includes the same program on CD and on DVD-Audio; the latter is markedly clearer and more textured. At 41 minutes, Live at the Orpheum could be longer, but the performance could hardly be better.

. . . Joseph Taylor